ach5

How to Delete a Comment on Facebook 2021

ach5

What to Know

Delete your comment: Select the three dots to the right of the comment > Delete > Delete.Delete someone else's comment on one of your posts: Select the three dots next to the comment > Delete.Edit a comment: Select the three dots next to the comment > Edit. You can't edit someone else's comment.

If you've ever faced the panic of posting a comment on Facebook that you didn't mean to post, then you know how important it is to know how to delete a comment on Facebook. It's easy to delete or edit a comment, but the method you use will vary depending where you've posted it and whether you want to delete your own, or someone else's addition to one of your posts.

How to Remove a Comment From Facebook

In most cases, deleting a comment on Facebook just takes one or two quick steps.

If you've posted a comment on your own or someone else's post, just select the three dots to the right of your comment and select Delete from the pull-down menu.

Whenever you delete a comment or a post, you'll need to select Delete again on a confirmation message that asks if you're sure you want to delete.

If you want to edit a comment you've made on one of your posts or someone else's posts, the process is almost the same as deleting a post on Facebook. Select the three dots to the right of your comment and select Edit from the pull-down menu.

If you've created your own post on your wall, someone else's wall, or to a Facebook group, you can delete that post in the same way. The only difference is that the option to delete the post from Facebook is further down the list. Select the three dots at the upper right corner of the post you want to delete and select the Delete option at the bottom of the pull-down menu.

You can edit the same post using the same approach. Just select the three dots at the upper right corner of the post and select Edit post at the top of the pull-down menu.

How to Delete or Edit Someone Else's Comment

You can only modify comments that someone else has posted on Facebook if the comment was made on one of your posts or in a Facebook Group or Page that you run.

Use the following instructions to delete or edit someone else's post on Facebook.

To delete a comment posted by someone else on one of your posts, just select the three dots to the right of the post. Select Delete from the pull-down menu.

Keep in mind that to delete someone else's comment on Facebook, the post needs to be a response to one of your posts or if someone made a post on your wall. You can't delete someone else's comment on someone else's post, and you can't delete someone else's post on their own wall or someone else's wall.

You can delete a comment posted by someone in a Facebook Group or Page that you manage. The process is identical to deleting someone's comment on your personal wall. Select the three dots to the right of the comment and select Delete from the pull-down menu.

Keep in mind that you can't edit someone's comment, even if it's posted to your wall or your Facebook Group or Page.

Why Delete a Comment on Facebook?

There are a lot of reasons you may want to delete either your own comment or someone else's comment on a Facebook post.

You've realized your Facebook comment might have come across wrong and want to remove it so you don't hurt anyone's feelings.People misunderstood what you've posted and you'd prefer to remove it entirely.After further research, you've discovered that something you posted is incorrect.You got in trouble for something you posted to Facebook and you're required to delete the comment or face consequences.You received many negative responses to your comment and you'd like to remove the entire conversation from Facebook.A third-party app or website you use automatically posted something to your wall and you didn't want it to.

Remember that if you delete a comment that a lot of people have responded to, it'll also delete all of those replies. If you don't want to remove the replies from Facebook, you might want to consider editing your comment rather than deleting it.