ach5

How to Delete a User on PS5 2021

ach5

What to Know:

Go to Settings > Users and Accounts to delete and add profiles.It's possible to delete a profile permanently by contacting Sony.Before you delete, remember that each profile can earn trophies as you play.

This article teaches you how to delete a profile on PS5 and how to delete an account permanently, as well as why you might wish to do so.

How to Delete PS5 Profile From the Console

If you have multiple accounts logged in on your PlayStation 5, you may wish to tidy some of these up and delete them. Here's what to do.

Click Settings.

Click Users and Accounts.

Click Users at the bottom of the list.

Click the trash can next to the user you wish to delete.

Click OK to agree to delete the PS5 account thereby losing all your saved data, screenshots, video clips, and login details.

If the account is the main account on the console, it will also reset the PS5. 

Click OK and wait for the user to be removed.

How to Delete Your Playstation Profile Permanently

If you want to delete your PlayStation 5 profile permanently, the process is a little more complicated and requires you to use use the Playstation official website. Here's what to do.

Note:

You need to do this through a web browser such as on your smartphone or PC/Mac.

Go to https://www.playstation.com/en-us/support/contact-us/

Click Account & Security.

Click Manage account and online ID.

Click Live Chat Now.

Explain you wish to close your account. You'll need to provide your sign-in email address as well as your online ID when requested.

Wait for the account to be permanently deleted by Sony.

Permanent deletion will mean you lose access to any credit still on your account, all content purchased, and any subscriptions you may have.

How to Add Accounts on Playstation 5

Accidentally removed an account or want to add a new one? Here's what to do.

Turn on your Playstation 5 and the DualSense controller.

Click Add User.

Click Get Started to sign a second PSN account into the console, or click Quick Play to set up a temporary guest account for the time the console is switched on.

You can also choose Sign In and Play to sign in to a PSN account just for the duration of the gaming session.

Follow the sign in process and begin playing a game together.

Reasons to Add or Delete Playstation 5 User Accounts

The PlayStation 5 only requires one primary account to work but there are a few reasons why you might want to set up more (or delete some). 

More than one of you can earn trophies. If you're both logged into your PSN accounts, you can unlock trophies together. A guest profile can't earn trophies.Other members of the household can use the PlayStation 5. If you want to keep your friends list separate from other members of the household, you can switch between different profiles depending on who's playing.Deleting accounts keeps things tidy. It's not essential but it looks neater to log in to a console with the minimum number of users to choose from rather than be overwhelmed with options.Deleting an account permanently removes everything. It's a big decision to permanently delete your account but if you want a clean break from your PlayStation history, it's the best way to do so. Just remember that you lose everything tied to it so it could feel expensive.