ach5

How to Delete or Deactivate Your Instagram Account 2021

ach5

What to Know

Disable an account: Go to Instagram.com and log in. Select your profile icon and choose Edit Profile > Temporarily disable my account.Choose a reason, then select Temporarily Disable Account. To reactivate your account, log back in via Instagram.com.Delete an account: Go to the account deletion page. Choose a reason, enter your password, select Permanently delete my account.

This article explains how to temporarily deactivate or permanently delete your Instagram account. You'll need to do this from Instagram in a web browser. Instagram doesn't currently let users disable their accounts from within its mobile app.

How to Disable Your Instagram Account

Here's what to do if you want to disable your Instagram account for a temporary break.

Navigate to Instagram.com in a web browser (Firefox, Chrome, Safari, or other) and sign in to your account.

Select your profile picture or icon.

Select Edit Profile.

At the bottom of your profile account page, select Temporarily disable my account.

Next to Why Are You Disabling Your Account, click the drop-down arrow, then select a reason for disabling your account.

Enter your password, then select Temporarily Disable Account.

Instagram confirms that it temporarily disabled your account. To reactivate your account, log in again at Instagram.com.

You may not be able to reactivate your account immediately after disabling it, as it takes a few hours for Instagram to complete the process.

Permanently Delete Your Instagram Account

Just like disabling your account, you need to delete your account using Instagram.com in a web browser.

As an alternative to disabling or deleting your account, consider limiting access to your profile by making your Instagram profile private.

In a web browser, navigate to the Instagram Account Deletion page and log in if necessary.

The account deletion page is accessible only through the direct link. You can't get there from your profile.

Next to Why do you want to delete, click the drop-down arrow and select a reason.

Based on your reason, Instagram suggests deletion alternatives that may be a better solution for you. For example, if you selected Too busy/too distracting, Instagram may suggest removing the application from your mobile device instead of deleting your account.

If you want to go ahead with the account deletion, enter your password and select Delete [your account name].

Deletion is permanent. You can't restore your account and its contents, including photos, videos, and comments.