ach5

How to Sign Out of Chrome 2021

ach5

What to Know

Sign out of Chrome: Go to the Gmail app, tap your profile picture, tap it again, then tap Sign out and turn off sync.Turn off Chrome sign-in: Go to More > Settings > Sync and Google Services. Turn off Allow Chrome sign-in.Log out of Chrome remotely: Go to the Chrome app permissions page and select Google Chrome > Remove access.

When you log into your Gmail or Google account, you are also signed in to many of Google's products, including the Chrome browser. This article explains the various ways you can sign out of Google Chrome.

Sign Out of Chrome on Your Desktop or Smartphone

On a computer, you can sign out of Chrome and your Google account from most Google websites. Look for your Google profile photo in the upper-right corner of the page.

Click your profile photo and select Sign out. The process is a bit different on a smartphone. The screenshots below are for Android.

In the Gmail app for Android and iOS, tap your profile picture in the upper-right corner of the app (lower-right corner for iOS).

You'll land on the Sync and Google Services screen. Tap your profile picture again.

Tap Sign out and turn off sync.

If you don't have syncing on, it will say something like Sign out of Chrome.

Turn Off Syncing for Chrome

Another method is to turn off sync, which backs up a range of data to your Gmail address, such as browser extensions, passwords, browsing history, and bookmarks. While it's convenient to carry this information from device to device, you can turn this functionality off or limit the types of saved data.

From any tab in Chrome on a computer, click the More menu (three vertical dots) in the upper-right corner.

Click Settings.

Click the small arrow next to Sync.

Expand the Manage what you sync section by selecting the arrow next to it.

Toggle off Sync everything.

Disabling sync also signs you out of Google Account services.

You can also turn off syncing for Chrome from your smartphone (shown for iOS).

In the Chrome app, tap the More menu (three vertical dots) in the lower-right corner (upper-right corner on Android devices).

Tap Settings.

Tap Sync and Google Services.

Turn off the slider next to Sync Your Chrome Data.

Turn Off Chrome Sign-In

When you sign in to your Google Account from any app, such as Gmail or Google Drive, you're automatically signed in to Chrome by default. If you don't want this to happen, you can adjust the settings on your computer.

Open Chrome.

Click the three-dot More menu icon.

Select Settings in the drop-down menu.

In the You and Google section, select Sync and Google Services.

Turn off the slider next to Allow Chrome sign-in.

Log out of Chrome Remotely

Finally, it's possible that you've signed into Chrome on one or more devices that you don't have access to anymore. Luckily, you can remotely sign out of Chrome from your computer by removing access to it.

When you remove access from Chrome, that signs you out of any computer or device you've used, including the one you're using now. You can allow access again next time you launch Chrome.

Go to myaccount.google.com/permissions.

Scroll down to the Google apps section and click Google Chrome.

Select Remove access.

Why You Might Want to Sign Out of Chrome

It's important to log out of Chrome and other programs, like Gmail, when using a public computer or one that belongs to a friend or family member because the browser stores an array of private information that can include credit card numbers, passwords, browsing history, and more.

You might also want to log out of Chrome before letting someone else borrow your device since the autofill on the browser search bar can also be revealing, showing your search history. Just type “what is” into your search bar and see what it fills in (it's likely to be at least a little embarrassing).

Finally, since you can log in to multiple devices at once, it's good to do an audit of where you're signed in, such as an old work computer or a device you no longer own.

Here's how to sign out of Chrome whether you have access to the device or not.