ach5

How to Unlink Your Epic Games Account 2021

ach5

What to Know

An Epic Games account is the same thing as a Fortnite account.To unlink: Go to EpicGames.com, log in to your account, and select Connections.Select Disconnect > Unlink under Xbox, Nintendo Switch, GitHub, Twitch, or the PlayStation Network.

This article explains how to disconnect your Epic Games account from a PS4, Nintendo Switch, Xbox One console, and more. This process doesn't delete your Epic Games account or its associated Fortnite data, which will remain on the Epic Games servers.

How to Unlink Fortnite Accounts From PS4, Xbox One, and Nintendo Switch

Unlinking an Epic Games account, which is the same thing as a Fortnite account, isn't actually done from your video game console. Instead, you'll need to log into the Epic Games website on a computer or mobile device.

Open your preferred web browser on your computer and go to EpicGames.com.

Select Sign In from the top-right corner and log into your Epic Games account.

If you're already logged into the Epic Games website from a previous session, your username should appear in the top-right corner. Hover your mouse over your name and select Account.

Select how you want to sign into your Epic account.

Enter your username, email, and password and select Log In Now.

You may be prompted to enter a security code if you haven't logged into the website for awhile.

From your Epic Games account page, select Connections from the left menu.

Select Disconnect under each account you wish to disconnect from this Epic Games account. You'll be able to disconnect your Epic Games account from Xbox, Nintendo Switch, GitHub, Twitch, and the PlayStation Network.

A confirmation message will pop up. Select Unlink to confirm the disconnect process.

Repeat for each account you want to disconnect.

If you make a mistake, you can always select Connect under an account type to reconnect it again.

Why Unlink Your Epic Games Account?

Epic Games accounts are used to power Fortnite's online matches and sync player progress between different video game consoles. While linking an Epic Games account to a PS4, Nintendo Switch, or Xbox One console or account does provide a lot of benefits, there are some reasons why you may want to unlink it:

You connected the wrong Epic Games account.You want to start Fortnite again from scratch.You've created a new Xbox, PSN, or Nintendo Switch account.

You can have the same Epic Games account simultaneously connected to your Xbox One, PS4, and Nintendo Switch. You don't need to unlink from one to play on another. If what you're trying to accomplish is getting rid of multiple Fortnite accounts, consider merging those Fortnite accounts rather than deleting them. This saves your progress and resources.

What Happens After I Unlink My Epic Games Account?

The next time you open Fortnite after disconnecting your Epic Games account, you'll be prompted to sign in with an Epic Games account. You can sign in with any Epic Games account you like, even your old one.

Once disconnected, all Epic Games account data still exists in the company's online servers. You'll be able to log in at any time and pick up where you left off, if you so choose.

How to Change Your Fortnite Name